Are You a Current Blu e-Cig User?

If you are... why not take the time to leave a review below? Your viewpoint will be a valuable resource for others.

If you purchase a kit or any other products using our Discount Code options, please come back and leave a review after you have received and tried the product.

VN:R_N [1.9.22_1171]
Cost/Value
Ease of Draw
Vapor Production
Flavor/Taste
Style/Look
Customer Service
Speed of Shipment
Overall Score
Rating: 6.1/10 (40 votes cast)

59 Responses to Blu Consumer Reviews

  • Dan
    June 19, 2014

    I honestly don’t know how anyone could give these things anything lower than a 7 or 8. I used to smoke roughly a half pack to a pack a day, and a cigar here and there. Folks, if you want the rechargeables to work CORRECTLY (to their full potential), YOU HAVE TO READ THE DIRECTIONS. You can’t just start smoking these right from the point of purchase. The box has to be charged for a full 3-4 hours, first. Then, each battery needs to be charged (1 at a time) for an hour each. Then you can start to smoke. If you don’t follow these directions, you’re going to screw up the charge times of the box and the battery, and they won’t end up holding a charge for nearly as long as they should. Please keep in mind that when you screw the flavor cartridge to the battery, they need to be screwed together TIGHTLY.

    People need to realize these aren’t exactly like analog cigarettes. The experience is going to be a little different. In my opinion, these are much better. You have to drag on these slowly in order to get the most vapor.

    I’ve smoke these for roughly two months, followed every direction, and I’ve honestly had ZERO problems. The cartridges are perfectly fine. They last for roughly 250 drags (exactly what the company states), and the battery usually lasts through two flavor cartridges. Be happy you aren’t going to get cancer and die from analogs!

    Cost/Value 9/10
    Ease of Draw 10/10
    Vapor Production 10/10
    Flavor/Taste 8/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 10/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 9/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
  • Ashton
    May 27, 2014

    It is not terrible. But it isn’t great. I’ve been using the Blu for about a week now. Something I seemed to have notice is that the vapor production in the cartridges is no where close to consistant. The cherry ones rarely have any vapor and the tobacco ones have thick and heavy. The flavor is great on the vanilla and cherry and decent on the menthol but absolutly terrible for the classic tobacco. I have only used Blu and Vuse. It looks great and I love the PCC charger.

    Cost/Value 8/10
    Ease of Draw 9/10
    Vapor Production 5/10
    Flavor/Taste 2/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 8/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 7/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Crystal
    April 21, 2014

    I’ve used all kinds of electronic cigarettes. This one I’ve only had for 3 days. It was really expensive to purchase. I love the case and the way the charge works and it looks nice, but I’m really interested in the taste and draw. The full charge only lasts half a day. I’m assuming because it’s a smaller version of e-cig and therefore a smaller battery?? There is no throat hit hardly at all. I’ve learned to seal the area where the metals touch with my fingers to be able to draw a hit otherwise it’s like the other reviews, air through a straw… pretty bad. I put tape over the area now leaving a very very small portion open for the air flow. I can get a harder draw now. I shouldn’t have to rig this thing, especially for 35 bucks. The cartridges do not last long either compared to the eCig o2 brand. Those cartridges and batteries last awhile, but you sacrifice taste.

    Overall the disposable blu cigs are better and you get a better draw. I like the taste of both personally. For the rechargeable, the battery life and draw is very disappointing for the quality received.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • James
    February 22, 2014

    I have tried many different e-cig and by far this was the worse. I would NOT recommend this e-cig to anyone. Even the disposables are bad. The flavor don’t last, batteries don’t hold a charge and have to be replaced frequently (usually last about a month before you have to buy a new one). The customer service is really really bad.

    Cost/Value 1/10
    Ease of Draw 1/10
    Vapor Production 1/10
    Flavor/Taste 1/10
    Style/Look 1/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 1/10
    Overall Score 1/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.7/5 (3 votes cast)
  • brandon
    February 14, 2014

    blu cigs suck,i would rather huff burning garbage.they have no flavor no good throat hit.its like puffing on a straw.junk…junk…junk!!!!!!!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.7/5 (3 votes cast)
  • Steve
    February 12, 2014

    The first starter pack I got the charger pack work for about 3 weeks. I contacted Blu which stated I can send it back and they will send me a new kit. The down side it will take 2 weeks. For some one like myself, trying to quit smoking. That doesn’t work. So I sent it back and got a new kit. The charging pack died again after a 3 weeks.

    The other down side is the cartomizers. Some work, most don’t. I found the only 2 flavor work most of the time.

    Cost/Value 1/10
    Ease of Draw 3/10
    Vapor Production 4/10
    Flavor/Taste 8/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 1/10
    Overall Score 1/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • pj
    February 9, 2014

    Terrible company. They can maintain their inventory of cartomizers stating that they have such a high demand. I have had cartomizers on back order for more than a month. Tried to cancel order with no success. Battery life is horrible and charge case is faulty. Switched to Johnson creeks via. Great juice and battery life with many options.

    Cost/Value 3/10
    Ease of Draw 5/10
    Vapor Production 3/10
    Flavor/Taste 6/10
    Style/Look 8/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 3/10
    Overall Score 4/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Eric G
    January 23, 2014

    Blu was my very first foray into e-cigs. I used it for about three months before Vuse came onto the scene here in Colorado (and it’s much better than blu, other than only two flavors). I bought it on a whim as I’ve been trying to quit smoking for years.

    To begin with, I was very impressed with the overall quality. It feels very solid and well made, but much heavier than an analog, so I had to get used to that. The draw is noisy and whistles, there is no real throat hit (unless you use the Cherry flavor, that is the only one that does it for me with the Blu battery). The battery life seemed pooor, but since it comes with two and the pack actually will charge on the go, it was not a real issue. I was also disappointed that there is no indication other than just pulling air that the cart is empty (Vuse has solved this issue.)

    I figured I’d continue with it so I ordered all of the flavors from the website. Delivery was very fast and ordering from them is much less than buying from a store.

    When I bought my first Vuse, I liked it so much my Blu kit sat on my desk and stopped being used…and all of those cartomizers just sat there. Then I switched to the “good stuff” meaning a real tank system with clearomizer…etc. The good news about Blu carts is that they are 510 threaded. I can use these carts with my 650 tank battery…and they draw SO much better using it. At least this way, I can get good use out of my Blu cartomizers….I didn’t waste any money.

    In conclusion, as a “gateway” vape, Blu is a great value and a great introduction to vaping. It certainly helped me to eventually wean myself off of analogs and grow into a more serious vaping experience.

    Cost/Value 9/10
    Ease of Draw 9/10
    Vapor Production 5/10
    Flavor/Taste 8/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 7/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 8/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    • Denny Thomas
      June 2, 2014

      I like the taste of blu more than I did vuse or V2

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • harkin
    January 17, 2014

    wouldn’t recommend, terrible battery life and charging mechanism and on top of that, its expensive. They do look cool, however.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.5/5 (2 votes cast)
  • lenna
    January 6, 2014

    dont waste your money, its like sucking a straw without it being in a cup straight up air, no flavor. this is for people who think that smoking looks cool and just want to be seen smoking you see the vapor but cant even taste it. serious long term smokers will get nothing but pissed off from purchasing this. i called them trying to return the product for a refund and they told me they dont give refunds. a waste of 39 dollars. do some research, there are much better e cigs that taste better and are stronger than this piece of crap.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.8/5 (4 votes cast)
  • Don Conyngham
    December 16, 2013

    After smoking fire-lit Cigarettes for 46 years and having struggled for 3 years to cut down (got it from 30 @ day to 15 @ day; could NOT get below that) I figured it was time to try something else.
    I landed on “Blu” first because, lets be honest, their budget to advertise is perhaps 10 fold that of the others. I used Blu for 6 weeks.
    I consistently got less than I expected from cartridges, changing them between once and twice a day. Some cartridges lasted only 20 or so puffs (I kept a written log for all 6 weeks). I also got the “hot metallic flavor & aftertaste, usually in less than 60 puffs. I contacted customer service three times with complaints and was told the “roll them in your palms” as well as the “tap them vigorously threads down” solutions. This provided limited help, and in fact the firm tapping at times seemed to plug the cartridge right up tight. On the third call I pointed out I had a good 10 instances where I was paying the equivalent of $20 A PACK with the poor cartridges. His response; “Sometimes that happens” left me flabbergasted. My sister in law, hearing I was shifting back to more and more fire lit cigarettes, contacted me and requested I try Halo Triton Cartomizers. Long story short, I did and cannot say enough how satisfied I am. Every single claim has been accurate so far. I have reduced my Fire-Lit (analog) Cigarettes by 66% and hope in a few months to be Vaping only.

    It seems to me Blu is in it for the proceeds, promising much, delivering less, and couldn’t care less attitude when one has problems. Hey Sis, I owe you big time for turning me onto Halo, which seems to be more word of mouth, less adbvertising, and MUCH better product.

    Cost/Value 1/10
    Ease of Draw 2/10
    Vapor Production 1/10
    Flavor/Taste 3/10
    Style/Look 6/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 3/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.8/5 (4 votes cast)
  • Gail Trent
    December 16, 2013

    I have been using Blu since May. It is my first e cig. I have purchased a starter pack, a standard pack and two premium packs in that amount of time. The packs just die after a few months and do not charge as well as the USB chargers. The batteries only last a couple of months also. I have probably purchased 20 batteries since May, counting the ones in the pack. A 5 pack of premium cartridges last me about 2 days. I agree that the flavor only lasts about half way through the cartridge and then it is just nasty after that. The Java tastes like licking the bottom of a burnt coffee pot, and the vanilla and pina colada is not much better. I do like that you can get great discounts on purchasing 4 or more packs at a time and the reward points. I am looking at other brands, especially ones where I do not have to purchase as batteries or cartridges.

    Cost/Value 8/10
    Ease of Draw 6/10
    Vapor Production 6/10
    Flavor/Taste 5/10
    Style/Look 9/10
    Customer Service 5/10
    Speed of Shipment 5/10
    Overall Score 7/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Liz
    December 8, 2013

    For all of you who would like to get your money back, here is a tip. I called Blu, told them I was sending my Premium starter kit back for a refund. He immediately
    started his little speech about there were no refunds, only exchanges. I stopped him right there & read the following to him: ALL returns under the 30-Day Money Back
    Guarantee & exchanges under warranty must be accompanied by an RMA form. The 30-day money back guarantee & 1-year warranty only apply to product purchased directly from www. blucigs.com. This is found on the last page of the blu operators manual that came with order. I gave him my order number, he checked it out, said I would receive refund about a week after they receive the kit. Read this to them, then they know you know you have a 30 day money back guarantee. They cannot argue with you, you’ve got it in writing. Hope this helps.

    Cost/Value 3/10
    Ease of Draw 1/10
    Vapor Production 1/10
    Flavor/Taste 1/10
    Style/Look 9/10
    Customer Service 10/10
    Speed of Shipment 3/10
    Overall Score 1/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)
    • Rob
      February 20, 2014

      I will definitely be grabbing my book when I get home. I just tried to return my premium started kit I received yesterday because of the lack of throat hit there is and was told no refunds. Hopefully they haven’t changed the wording in the manual!

      Cost/Value 7/10
      Ease of Draw 7/10
      Vapor Production 10/10
      Flavor/Taste 8/10
      Style/Look 10/10
      Customer Service 5/10
      Speed of Shipment 4/10
      Overall Score 7/10
      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • MICHAEL
    December 7, 2013

    I’ve tried V2, Njoy, White Cloud and Blu. The best tasting without a chemical aftertaste is Blu. I smoked Marlboro lights and American Spirits forever. It takes a while to get used to how smooth they are but then you feel your energy comeback. The awful smell of real smoke is gone. The charging pack is really cool. I love the look. I have never had a problem with the battery as there is always one in the charger pack. I love the minty menthol flavor and the chocolate taste of the tobacco. No ecigs match a tobacco flavor but I don’t think they should try. We quit those right?

    Cost/Value 10/10
    Ease of Draw 10/10
    Vapor Production 10/10
    Flavor/Taste 10/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 10/10
    Speed of Shipment 8/10
    Overall Score 10/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Cathye Bunthoff
    December 3, 2013

    I purchased the Original Starter kit and completely charged the battery pack before using. The battery life is ridiculous, as is the life of the cartridges. It is difficult to draw and the taste is lacking. The battery pack would not take another charge after the first one. I returned it, along with my receipt, to the company, and received a replacement approximately three weeks later. The second battery pack now will not accept a charge after the first initial charge. I called and was advised to send the unit, along with my receipt and their form, back to the company and they would send a replacement. I explained that I was not interested in a replacement as I was not excited about paying postage every two weeks to return their product for a replacement they advised me it was against their policy to issue refunds. I advised that I did not have the receipt, as they did not return it with the first replacement and I was told a replacement could not be issued without the receipt. Buyer beware! I won’t be using their products in the future.

    Cost/Value 4/10
    Ease of Draw 3/10
    Vapor Production 4/10
    Flavor/Taste 4/10
    Style/Look 7/10
    Customer Service 5/10
    Speed of Shipment 5/10
    Overall Score 5/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.7/5 (3 votes cast)
  • sandt38
    November 28, 2013

    I decided I wanted to toss analogs and try an e-cig a few weeks ago after my friend was diagnosed with 4th stage lung cancer (I am a 4th stage colon cancer survivor myself). Rather then spending a chunk not knowing if it was worthwhile, I snagged a disposable Blu. It was OK, but not amazing. I figured that I would give the Blu starter kit a try because I desperately wanted to quit analogs.

    What a total waste.

    The packaging was not terribly awful looking. The set is really loaded with clever ideas, but nothing is well implemented. I thought the recharging pack was a great idea, but unfortunately it is nearly worthless. I might get 1/2 a day out of the pack charge at best. Is it just a poor design, or is it just because I constantly had to keep one of the batteries charging because of the atrocious battery life I cannot say. I was lucky to get 30 minutes off a battery charge, so I would go stretches without a puff. I eventually got to the point where I would take a few puffs, then change the battery out and toss it into the charger so I could attempt to deal with the horrible life.

    The cigs offered zero satisfaction for me. It never felt like I was smoking (aren’t e-cigs supposed to provide similarities to smoking without the stink and extensive cancer concerns?) for several reasons. Obviously low nicotine intake, no throat hit at all, no discernable vapor production, horrible draw, awful taste, and the battery constantly shut down while taking a big drag in an attempt to satisfy my cravings. I struggled with nicotine withdraw while using Blu, becoming terribly irritable and short with everyone around me. Each drag felt like I was sucking through a straw, and I am/was an ultra-light cigarette smoker!

    I was about to give it up and go back to analogs. I wound up trying several friends’ and my uncle’s vapes, and I am glad I did. After trying several cigs including my personal favorites Green Smoke, and Halo; as well as some of my uncle’s modded vapes, I realized that vaping could really be of help to my quitting analogs.

    I finally decided that Halo was the best fit for me. I got the G6, and am thrilled with it, and have since purchased the Triton. I highly suggest that everyone run away from Blu as if it were the plague.

    Ironically the equation I have to complete for human verification of this review is 4-four =_, because zero is the number of stars I would give Blu if I could…

    Cost/Value 1/10
    Ease of Draw 1/10
    Vapor Production 1/10
    Flavor/Taste 1/10
    Style/Look 2/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 1/10
    Overall Score 1/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (4 votes cast)
  • John
    November 21, 2013

    These completely suck compared to the brands I have tried. I went from safecig who went out of business to V2cigs. In between I went to Blu and have to say it’s worse than both. I got nothing out of trying these and wasted my money. If I were you I wouldn’t purchase.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.3/5 (3 votes cast)
  • Jane Millerick
    November 17, 2013

    Ok. First ones I tried. The thing (single one) which comes in the box is fine if you are fortunate enough to purchase it in a store which has a ‘fresh’ box. These things go stale! And maybe the chemicals under go some sort of change; not certain, but they can get really funky! And the cartomizer starter kit? Had really bad luck with that one. They do not last long (per cartomozer) and these too can (and do) go bad. I know. The order I did over the net in getting a whole bunch of boxes of them were all freaking stale! They’d sold out of near all but one flavor which sounded .. well, like it wouldn’t be too bad (vanilla). Uh .. all mine were stale! Actually felt ill from them.
    I wound up ordering a Halo Triton Tank.
    Oh; and the starter kit? Got it in a store. It did not last long before it broke. Had to send it back (store refused to exchange) and it took 2 weeks to get another.
    The damn batteries do not last long at all, and it was altogether a most unsatisfying experience. A total rip off.
    Soooo glad to have spent a bit more for the Halo Triton Tank!! now .. that thing rocks!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Chris
    November 3, 2013

    Blu the rechargeable refillable disposable ecig. Key to use buy starter kit, wash out eliqued, refill with good eliqued me I use halo. Get a njoy disposable for the case. Work in an enviroment that is not safed for survival of ecigs so my g6 stays in the office for safe keeping amd my blu filled with halo e juice takes the brunt of the environment, not concerned if it brakes.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.8/5 (4 votes cast)
  • janet johnson
    November 2, 2013

    I really like this product when I first purchased. I totally quit a 40 year smoking habit. But they need to improve the battery. I have purchased 8 batteries. I have returned 4. The ones I have left still barely hold a charge. I have changed to another brand because of the battery life just does not work for me

    Cost/Value 7/10
    Ease of Draw 7/10
    Vapor Production 7/10
    Flavor/Taste 9/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 7/10
    Speed of Shipment 7/10
    Overall Score 7/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Philip
    October 30, 2013

    This was the first e-cig I tried and it helped me quit chewing. I bought the started kit first, then later ordered the Premium 100 kit. It was good for awhile, but then I started having some problems with it. I noticed the flavors started out good and fairly strong but became bland after only about 40 puffs or so. Also, the batteries constantly need charging! There’s not much of a throat hit either. For a mediocre e-cig, this product is overpriced. The design and style looks appealing and it’s not a bad product, especially if you’re a light smoker. I’m more of a heavy smoker myself and prefer my new Green Smoke. Blu is not the best e-cig on the market but it’s certainly not the worst. If you’re considering buying an e-cig I strongly recommend Green Smoke.

    Cost/Value 7/10
    Ease of Draw 10/10
    Vapor Production 9/10
    Flavor/Taste 5/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 9/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 6/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Courser
    October 27, 2013

    I’ve been using Blu for 4 months now and while I still like it for a number of reasons, I’ve ordered a Halo Triton tank system to add to my vaping experience. My review is based on my Premium100 kit, which probably not a lot of people upgraded to when they purchased their Blu. I switched from analogs to Blu because I no longer wanted to deal with the smell, ash and mess of analogs. I pretty much completely gave up analogs the minute I got my Premium100 system. I found the Blu disposables to be really inconsistent. If you’re looking for some ‘disposable’ satisfaction, buy a Vuse at the local convenience store. I’ll probably review that later. Here I’ll just say that Vuse is a great compromise between a disposable and a pricier starter system.

    One of the primary reasons I started with Blu and continue to like it is simply the ease of use. Before I ordered my Blu Premium100 starter set, I looked at a lot of websites. Tank systems seemed overwhelmingly complicated and I didn’t want a steep learning curve. With Blu you just get the starter kit and are up to speed immediately. The charging pack was a huge plus and the Premium100 kits had the upgraded charging system in them from the start, which is why I popped for it in the first place. Everything I need in one convenient package that I can just drop in my purse or backpack was what I wanted and Blu delivers great in that regard.

    While I don’t use the pack to charge batteries all that often, it is really nice if I’m out and around and a battery goes on me. Blu batteries don’t last all that long but it’s never bothered me because I always have a fully charged one in the pack. I usually charge them via the USB port on my computer rather than in the pack so my pack has *never* run out of charge in 4 months of use. So for me the battery life is fine.

    I found the cartridges that I buy directly from Blu have great flavor and are very smooth. While this is a plus for me, others might find the ‘throat hit’ lacking. I’ve tried Menthol, Cherry Crush, Tobacco and Vanilla. I’m not a huge menthol smoker, but Blu’s menthol is a nice, refreshing change from the other flavors. I like being able to swap cartridges on a whim depending on my mood and menthol is a nice palate cleanser. The Cherry Crush I got from the factory are awesome but not so good when I buy them at a local outlet. They tend to be old and stale and lose flavor really quick. I’ve only tried the Vanilla from Walgreens and the carts had leaked, so I can’t judge the flavor fairly. Consequently, I only buy carts locally if I’m stuck. Which is too often because of Blu’s shipping policies.

    I have complained bitterly to Blu’s customer service about their shipping policies. They offer free USP shipping with $100 purchase and free USPS shipping with lesser purchases but there are serious drawbacks to the free USPS shipping. If you’re willing to upgrade your shipping a bit, it’s much steeper than comparable companies charge which just ticks me off. In the end, they gave me a free pack of carts, which was nice, but the shipping policies still suck rocks.

    On the plus side, if you buy 4 or more packs of carts at one time, they only cost about $10 for a pack of 5. WAY cheaper than analogs! They’re about $15 if you buy at a convenience store and they’re usually old and crappy.

    I’ve tried refilling the Blu carts with very mixed results. Big learning curve there and after a lot of experimentation, I’d say they are only good for one or two refills of a similar flavor. In my experience the carts get ‘bitey’ or ‘peppery’ if refilled more than that, which I really don’t like.

    So, I plan on keeping my Blu (I just order a pile of carts for it) and will try out the Halo Triton tank system too. I like the idea of just vaping the liquid directly.

    Cost/Value 9/10
    Ease of Draw 9/10
    Vapor Production 7/10
    Flavor/Taste 9/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 5/10
    Speed of Shipment 6/10
    Overall Score 8/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Laura
    October 15, 2013

    This is not a great product. I will keep as a back up, but will not use it otherwise.

    Cost/Value 2/10
    Ease of Draw 4/10
    Vapor Production 4/10
    Flavor/Taste 1/10
    Style/Look 7/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 1/10
    Overall Score 2/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Eric
    October 13, 2013

    I have used Blu for about 2 months. I bought a starter kit at a local gas station for $35. I was only smoking about a half a pack a day before so it was an easy transition. The flavors are nice and not smelling like smoke all the time is great. Blu does not us Propylene glycol for added smoke. That is why the vapor and “throat hit” is a little less than some other e-cigs. My favorite flavor is vanilla. I did not like the the taste of the last tobacco cart and I would probably choke on a real cigarette as I have not touched one since I got Blu.

    Cost/Value 10/10
    Ease of Draw 9/10
    Vapor Production 8/10
    Flavor/Taste 9/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 9/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 10/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
  • BobbyG
    September 24, 2013

    I’ve been using Blu for roughly 7 weeks now. The reviews I see, both good and bad, I can agree with. I was a smoker of Camel Filter for about 17 years. I’m 35 years old. I put down a pack a day on average. Some days I’d only smoke 10-15, other days I was nearing 2 packs. You get the gist.

    Anyhow, for all it’s faults, overall I think Blus are doing the job for me. Keep in mind, before Blu the only brand I tried was Njoy disposables. So, take this for what it’s worth. I have no frame of reference or comparison.

    From what I gather, to put it bluntly, Blu batteries suck. But if you manage the charging properly you should really never be left hanging in the breeze suffering from nicotine withdraw without a batter to screw a cart on and vape away.

    I’ve tried the four common flavors. Tobacco is kind of a joke, in my opinion. There’s really no way for me to be nice about that one. Cherry has it’s GREAT moments but is more or less inconsistent. Id say Vanilla is my favorite and can actually deliver a bit of a throat kick when you get a good draw. I was not a menthol smoker, but I will say I do not mind the Blu menthol flavor carts for the same reason I like the vanilla. It seems to be consistent for me and gives a something of a throat kick which is totally absent on the tobacco flavor.

    I can usually stretch a cart through 2 batteries and sometimes on to a third. But that’s very rare. I probably go through 2 to 2 and a half carts a day. I buy 2 packs of 5 every 5 days. That’s roughly $32 every 5 days which is still saving me money, and more importantly my health.

    In the end, for now, I am sticking with these out of pure convenience. Maybe I’m old fashion but I still like going down to the store and telling the cashier what I want and bidding them a nice day. I don’t know.

    For the price and convenience, I would recommend the Blu starter kit for someone considering getting into e-cigs and away from tobacco products. Most of my friends smoke light cigarettes anyway so they may work for them. And it’s convenient to get and try without putting a big dent in your wallet. Which is why I tried Blu in the first place. Without getting into rechargeable types and all, maybe I was iffy on ordering a brand online on a whims, being disappointed, and just going back to cigarettes because my predisposition that e-cigs were a joke. Now I know better!

    I’ve dissected the reviews from ECCR on other brands and by consumers, I will say as time goes on I will move on from Blu an delve into either Green Smoke or Halo. Simply because I do want something better and I know it is out there, with thanks to this website and the in depth reviews.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.8/5 (5 votes cast)
  • Shelly
    September 17, 2013

    Sorry ECCR but I wouldnt even put Blu Ecig in the top ten. I wouldnt even give them any stars. The product all in all is awful. Only thing it has going for them is vapor. Flavors are horrid…almost a weak plastic taste with barely a hint of what the flavor is suppose to be. And there is absolutely no throat hit. Battery life is horrible and carts last about as long as the battery if not less. This was one of my first ecigs and I have to say I almost gave up completely on even considering trying a different brand ecig. This product is a complete waist of money and customer service is awful. I will say that I love your site though….I am now a Green Smoke Customer because of you and I absolutely love their product. They are the best. A little pricey but well worth every penny! I have a few other ecig products also that I like that you have posted (V2, Eversmoke, Halo, White Cloud and Bull Smoke which is not listed on here) all in all they are good, but Green Smoke is still the best choice for me and as far as Im concerned the best brand on the market! Because of them I no longer smoke regular analog cigarettes.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.3/5 (3 votes cast)
  • Michael
    August 28, 2013

    Don’t buy Blu cigs. Do some research first. Blu flavors wear out in minutes. If you’re a chain smoker / heavy smoker you will go through a cartridge in about 10-15 minutes. No lie. No exaggeration. I’m a heavy smoker/vapor and the flavor runs out in minutes and it’s not worth puffing after that because it tastes like burnt paper and is just plain disgusting. Customer Service is a joke and sucks. Wouldn’t replace a pack of bunk cartridges I received. 15 bucks for one package at a retail store — and I can easily go through a pack in day. That’s more expensive than smoking regular cigarettes. The company needs to take a hard look at their technology because they claim you get up to 200 puffs. In all honesty, you get about 30 puffs w/ flavor — the rest of your puffs will taste like garbage. They have the advertising, the catchy slogans, and the marketing schemes — too bad they’re a piece of garbage!! Batteries are also garbage. I only get about 45-minutes and then it takes over an hour to recharge — a huge nuisance for a heavy smoker. Do yourself a favor — STAY AWAY FROM BLU!

    Cost/Value 1/10
    Ease of Draw 1/10
    Vapor Production 1/10
    Flavor/Taste 1/10
    Style/Look 1/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 1/10
    Overall Score 1/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.6/5 (5 votes cast)
    • John
      September 29, 2013

      I figured I would try Blu e-cigarettes after seeing the commercial on TV. I was very disappointed with the everything. I got the express starter kit and the kit is actually pretty good. You can store the refill cartridges and charge at the same time. However, smoking them is a different story. Taking a draw was difficult. I would have to take two draws just to get a hit of nicotine. Then the cartridges would run out in a couple of hours. I gave up on Blu when I was spending more money on refills than on a carton of cigarettes in one weeks time. I am now smoking NJOY which has better prices, longer lasting cartridges and a strong tobacco taste. NJOY is a waste of money. Don’t by Blu unless you like sucking air.

      Cost/Value 1/10
      Ease of Draw 1/10
      Vapor Production 1/10
      Flavor/Taste 1/10
      Style/Look 5/10
      Customer Service 1/10
      Speed of Shipment 1/10
      Overall Score 1/10
      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
  • Gphail
    August 6, 2013

    When it first occured to me that one could consider thinking about the possibility of planning to … spend a little time mulling over the logistics of MAYBE not smoking … as much … it seriously never occured to me that I could quit smoking. I think it was the $2 tax hike per pack for my state to pay for a new sports stadium where I hit my limit. So I thought that MAYBE I could try something/anything to at least cut back.
    I went on a shopping trip and came back with 2 starter kits, one of which being the Blu.
    I bought the Blu at the Walgreen’s retail price ($60-70? it’s been a few months) because it gets advertised. My smoking is a huge problem that should be left to the professionals. I bought it because it was a nationally recognizable brand, as opposed to the “Grape EZ Cig” they have at gas stations.
    I found/find it totally pleasant. The flavors are mild and in no way disagreeable. Well except the java but to each their own – I know people that like it. It will give you nicotine and the packaging is totally cool.
    If you smoke a few packs of ultra lights a week, then this is the solution for you. The flavors, the personal charger, the price – it is a healthier alternative.
    If you don’t smoke just a few packs of ultra lights a week this wont work as a replacement tool, it will only work as an expensive nicotine replacement device like patches or gums. The taste, the throat hit, it just is not there. If you are just starting out you might not get what I’m saying (I didn’t when I read review sites before I bought) but after spending a ton of money on different things (from Blu to Ego to iTaste and now Halo) I can tell you what I wish I knew then.
    E-juice is cheap, prefilled cartomizers are expensive. Locally I can buy Blu at any Walgreens but at $20 per 5 pack. At the rate I smoke that’s not an improvement over Parliments. On their site it’s $10 but I’ve never ordered. Blu carts can be refilled for waaaay less btw, just pop the top off and the rubber ring and be careful =)
    Blu and some others have no “throat hit.” I discounted this back when I was first researching but it … how to explain. Smoking hurts a little. That sounds bad but when you realize its gone from vaping on the Blu you will so want a cigarette. Smoking an analog hits you in the back of the throat and in addition, you taste the smoke on the sides of your tongue. There are some e cigs that do this just like a real tobacco hit, but not the Blu.
    Anyways, it is what it is. A bunch of style and a great alternative to a few packs a week – or for those of us that smoked too much a handy backup for when the other things are down. But if you are just starting out, do not smoke ultra lights, and smoke more than a few packs a week – avoid. The Blu is so not for you.
    TLDR: Blu is fine for occasional ultra-light smokers, the rest probably not.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.5/5 (4 votes cast)
  • Tarik Chaudhary
    August 3, 2013

    BLU is not an acceptable option to quit smoking or make it a smoking alternative. Before I get into the issues, BLU does not cancel, refund or change orders. sounds weird right? it gets worse…

    I have the premium 100′s so they are not available in stores and have to be ordered online. Which is fine, except the following experience made it a HUGE issue for anyone trying to rely on BLU as a smoking alternative.

    I like the product, its the company that is not reliable and doesn’t care about its consumers needs. Even when they spend good money with BLU.

    Here’s the experience…

    2.5 weeks ago I ordered 4 packs of cartridges. I took the USPS shipping method because I have myself a good size window to receive it. Ofcourse the package never showed up.

    I called BLU customer service 4 times.

    #1 – Call was fine, BLU customer service pointed out incorrectly that the package was not yet delivered and is scheduled to be delivered in a couple of days. I argued saying that uSPS claims they have delivered it, but the BLU representative was adamant that I should wait a few days for it. I still had some cartridges left so I patiently waited.

    The package never showed up. I went back to the post office and they said that it was delivered to the wrong location likely and they can’t find it. I asked again for a claim number and USPS said the don’t issue such a number. They asked me to write the tracking number, my name, adress and telephone number so they can look again and the postmaster would get back to me. Still not able to give me any number.

    #2 – I called blu and told them what I wrote above, BLU claimed they need an investigational number not a claim number. So I went back to the post office to obtain an investigational number. USPS claimed they don’t give out such numbers and that I should wait for the postmaster.

    I got a call from the postmaster today claiming they can’t locate the package as it was delivered, likely to the wrong house. I asked again for some kind of investigational or claim number. Postmaster says they don’t have numbers that go by that name.

    #3 – I called BLU AGAIN, told them my dilemma and also that I now have only one cartridge left. The customer service rep proceeded to call USPS and was able to get a claim number. Go figure. Why they had me run around and do is beyond me, waste of 4 days, time, effort, lost work as a result of leaving work early to drive to the USPS location near my house twice! Just to get this in order.

    The rep then proceeded to submit a reorder again going through USPS and asking me if it was ok.

    I proceeded to AGAIN explain that I ordered 2.5 weeks ago, well in advance and that I was hoping they could expedite the process as I only have a single cartridge left. Because I have the premium 100′s so I can’t just go into Walgreens to purchase them. If I had to wait for USPS I would have a week or more where I would have to revert back to smoking actual cigarettes. I was told by the rep that BLU can’t be held responsible for USPS.

    I then explained that while that’s true, you now have an upset client that had to run around to the post office fixing your logistical issues, even if its not your logistical network it’s still an option in your delivery package and I’m your customer. I then asked if it was possible for BLU to expedite the shipment (they have overnight all the way to ground shipping).

    The REP SAID NO! Again he repeated with a louder voice that its USPS’s fault and the only option is to resend the orde via USPS.

    I then asked if I can pay for expedited service. He said NO, they can’t change it in their system! What a mockery!

    So after a full 3 weeks of this, I now only have an option to wait again for another 2 weeks.

    I told them that I will now have to revert back to traditional cigarettes as I’m addicted and relied on BLU to take me off of them. That had no effect they just laughed, at least they were not amused as the supervisors tone was now much louder and offensive.

    I just gave up and asked for a refund, which was never given. After many posts on twitter, I received a call from BLH saying that the previous rep I spoke to did not understand their policy and that I will not be receiving a refund as refunds are against their policy. You must first receive a shipment then return it for a refund. Even of the product is not even on order at the time(in my case delivered to who knows where as I meet got it). So now not only do I not have enough money to order an expedited package because they won’t refund me the lost money, but now I have to wait 2 weeks for BLU to send a package via USPS and then pay good money to return it and likely 2 weeks after that I will get a refund which will take an extra week to process into my bank account..

    This whole screwup cost me $50 that I have not received anything for and will not be refunded after 2 FULL MONTHS! If that!

    This is not what I expected, especially from a growing company still trying to grow and gain marketshare.

    In my opinion this was a really bad reflection on BLU as a whole and how they treat their customers. Needless to say I will be trying other e-cigs as I will not give BLU a single penny ever again.

    Cost/Value 5/10
    Ease of Draw 3/10
    Vapor Production 6/10
    Flavor/Taste 7/10
    Style/Look 9/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 1/10
    Overall Score 1/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (4 votes cast)
  • Warren Adams-Ockrassa
    July 25, 2013

    An open letter to Lorrilard, Lorrilard investors, and Blu Cigs:

    The other day I noticed that an order I had placed had yet to ship, and contacted Blu for an online chat regarding the problem. The transcript of that chat follows.

    From: “blu eCigs Customer Service”
    Subject: Transcript of your chat
    Sent date: 2013-07-23 22:32:47
    To: “Warren Adams-Ockrassa”

    Here is the copy of the recent chat that you requested

    General Info
    Chat start time Jul 24, 2013 1:18:11 AM EST
    Chat end time Jul 24, 2013 1:32:47 AM EST
    Duration (actual chatting time) 00:14:36
    Operator Josiah

    Chat Transcript

    info: Thank you for choosing blu eCigs. A representative will be with you shortly.

    info: You are now chatting with ‘Josiah’

    Josiah: Hello. Thank you for contacting Blu e-Cigs Support Center. My name is Josiah. How may I assist you today?

    Warren Adams-Ockrassa : Hi, Josiah. I had been in chat contact with ‘Samantha’, but it was cut off. This is about Order #101115664, which apparently has been delayed an unguessable among of time because the warehouse is backed up. I’m looking for either a more concrete estimate of when it will ship (apart from ‘hopefully this week’) or a way to cancel the order and get a refund, so I can spend my money elsewhere.

    Warren Adams-Ockrassa : Are we still connected?

    Josiah: The order will be shipped by the end of the week. As Samantha has stated though we aren’t able to cancel the order once they are in the fulfillment stage. If you don’t want the order though when it ships and you receive it don’t open it up. Just write RTS (return to sender) on the package and put it back in the mail box and when it comes back to us we will refund the money for this order.

    Josiah: For the wait we will gladly put enough points to your account for a free pack of cartridges.

    Warren Adams-Ockrassa : How can an order be ‘in fulfillment’ when it won’t even ship until a week after it was placed, several days from now? That makes no sense.

    Warren Adams-Ockrassa : At the moment the only thing in fulfillment is the money I paid, for which I have not received any product.

    Josiah: Well as Sam stated the ware house is backed up with orders at this time and this is why there’s been a delay in the orders shipping.

    Warren Adams-Ockrassa : Do you understand that this is not the time to offer pat answers?

    Josiah: Again we do apologize for this issue. This is growing pains of the company and the shipping times will be back to normal by the end of the week.

    Warren Adams-Ockrassa : …which doesn’t do me much good now. You need to get a system in place that warns customers of delays. There’s no added value to me in ordering something online that I’ll have to wait three weeks to receive. I could have walked to charleston and bought the bloody things in that amount of time.

    Josiah: This is something we are working on and again we do apologize for this issue.

    Josiah: I did add 1200 points to your account for this issue.

    Warren Adams-Ockrassa : Any way you could send the order with faster shipping? The normal delay for us mail wasn’t a problem at the time I placed it, anticipating it would ship in a reasonably timely fashion.

    Josiah: I can ask for it to be expedited however I can’t make any promises that it will be shipped faster.

    Warren Adams-Ockrassa : No, I meant a faster shipping method.

    Josiah: I understand again I will ask for it to be done but I can’t make any promises that it will happen.

    Warren Adams-Ockrassa : I’ll be in further contact tomorrow. Have a pleasant evening.

    Josiah: You too thanks.

    Josiah: We appreciate you contacting our Blu e-Cigs Support Center. If you need anything else, we’re always here. Phone (Toll Free): 1-888-207-4588 Please help us improve and take our Survey by clicking “Exit Survey” in the top right corner of this chat.

    On the following morning, July 24th, Blu posted to their Facebook page, saying there was a foul-up in shipping an unknown number of customer orders. There was no hard ETA given on delivery. The original post may be seen here:

    https://www.facebook.com/blucigs/posts/10151700200908592

    This is what was posted:

    Recently, we upgraded our order processing system here at blu eCigs to better serve our customers. Unfortunately, upon implementation we encountered some technical issues which inhibited our ability to fill some orders as quickly as we hoped. In addition, the glitches prevented us from cancelling orders which we previously invoiced.

    Rest assured that we are working overtime to ship all open orders as fast as possible. That said, we anticipate that some of you may experience a brief delay given this unforeseeable disruption . We apologize for the inconvenience and will do everything we can to remedy this situation as soon as possible.

    The thread of replies was predictable, and Blu’s handling of the matter was rather poor – a constant flow of excuse-making without offering real satisfaction to customers, claims that it ‘normally’ took 24-48 hours to ship, claims that ‘nothing’ could be done, and general irrelevancies about the problem.

    Among the posts was a comment by me, criticizing Blu’s handling of the PR backlash, which I had the foresight to copy and paste last night (7/24) when I posted it:

    Number me among the affected.

    Here’s a strategy you might want to adopt in customer relations: Don’t tell us that it ‘normally’ takes 24-48 hours to ship an order, when we’re going to be waiting an unknown amount of time to get the items we ordered and paid for. How long it ‘normally’ takes is irrelevant.

    While you’re at it, upgrade everyone’s shipping to ASAP – FedEx if necessary – without offering excuses as to why it can’t be done. Just bloody well do it.

    As it is you’re passing off the ‘inconvenience’ of your upgrade to your customers, and that is a profoundly stupid thing to do.

    That comment received a snotty reply from Blu, whereupon it was deleted and my account banned from posting further to the Blu page.

    See the screenshot on my Facebook page for proof that Blu did in fact reply to me, and has since deleted the comment:

    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=611872625504670&set=a.371011736257428.91047.100000458153698

    This is absolutely unconscionable customer service. As I am still within my 30-day return period on all products, and I kept my receipts, be assured that I shall take advantage of that 30-day return policy. You have lost a customer today, and it is a direct result of your company’s poor handling of this situation, online and otherwise.

    Furthermore, your cowardice in refusing to publicly handle a legitimate customer complaint should give others pause when considering which companies they’ll spend their money with in the future.

    Cost/Value 4/10
    Ease of Draw 6/10
    Vapor Production 5/10
    Flavor/Taste 8/10
    Style/Look 8/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 1/10
    Overall Score 1/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)
  • TOVA
    July 25, 2013

    got the premium 100 starter kit – and tobacco flavor
    I am extremely unhappy and dissatisfied
    … heres why
    after 10 to 30 hits off a new cartridge – it starts to tast burnt like smoking metal screen and something burning……
    some carts are duds…..
    this is really sucks and its $$$ down the drain

    Cost/Value 1/10
    Ease of Draw 5/10
    Vapor Production 3/10
    Flavor/Taste 1/10
    Style/Look 5/10
    Customer Service 5/10
    Speed of Shipment 5/10
    Overall Score 2/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.3/5 (3 votes cast)
  • William Barker
    July 23, 2013

    I have several brands of e cig and I go back and forth between them depending on my mood. I love Blu’s charging case. While the batteries don’t last as long as I would like I don’t worry about it because I always have a freshly charged battery sitting in the case. Look and style is straight tens allthe way. Now the bad news, IMO the flavor is good but just too light. Its clean with no chemical tast at all but just REALLY lite. I will keep using my Blu but I have to carry a back up brand with me for some flavor from time to time. There’s something up with the batteries I just can’t nail down. Occasionally one will have a really hard draw. I have to suck so hard it gives me a headache. I have found that if I leave it for a day and them put it on the charger at home for eight hours or so it works like new. Very weird and they all do it. That being said if you like a ligh or ultra light smoke with no throat hit then this is the ecig for you. If your looking for robust flavor and s good hit try something els.

    Cost/Value 8/10
    Ease of Draw 8/10
    Vapor Production 7/10
    Flavor/Taste 6/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 10/10
    Speed of Shipment 8/10
    Overall Score 8/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Annie
    July 20, 2013

    I am thrilled with my Blu premium 100s kit! I transitioned from using the Njoy, because I no longer wanted to use disposables due to the cost, plus I wanted a brand that I could ultimately drop down to a zero nicotine dose – and Blu offers zero nicotine cartridges as an option. The cartridges also have NO propylene glycol, and are made in Wisconsin. This may not be the best choice for a heavy smoker who may benefit most out of a refillable clearomizer type with very powerful battery for heavy use, but for someone who prefers something lighter Blu is perfect. I am really glad I got the 100s – they are the perfect size. I think the regulars would have been too small. They are very sleek and stylish, and the case that doubles as a charger for the batteries is extremely convenient. The flavor cartridges are delicious. I highly recommend Blu for lighter smokers who want something more sleek and stylish than other brands and much less bulky than the clearomizer type models. My fiance, who is transitioning from being a heavy smoker, and who “chain” puffs on his e-cig, is using the Apollo, which seems to be a good choice for someone like him. But for me the Blu is exactly what I wanted and needed!

    Cost/Value 9/10
    Ease of Draw 10/10
    Vapor Production 9/10
    Flavor/Taste 9/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 10/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 10/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
  • gary stiebing
    July 7, 2013

    I wish I had found this website before I purchased the blu premium 100 starter kit. The carts are very inconsistent . Out of 7 carts 2 were dead , 2 were burnt tasting and harsh , the rest were ok but the flavor does not last more than 50 puffs or so .The batteries last about 2 hours if that and the nicotine content seems to be nonexistent . They might be ok for someone that smokes lights or ultra lights but not for someone that smokes a full flavored cigarette . I would not purchase again or reccomend this product to any one.

    Cost/Value 3/10
    Ease of Draw 7/10
    Vapor Production 6/10
    Flavor/Taste 4/10
    Style/Look 8/10
    Customer Service 8/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 2/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Rob Stout
    June 23, 2013

    Just a bad experience all the way around. To sum up a very lengthy story, the products are hit and miss. The disposables I started off with, some would work and sometimes they don’t work right out of the box. This happens sometimes I know, but if you receive more than 1 that does this, they will tell you basically, we have sent you one already complimentary and after that we are not liable for the outcome of our product. I decided to give the rechargeable a chance. Wow… The throat hit is lacking, the taste goes away quickly, I always felt like I needed to keep puffing and was ending up going to buy a 5 pack almost every day because I never felt satisfied. The light constantly blinks and shuts off if you take a “too long” of a puff. Sometimes right off the charger the light would immediately shut me off after the first puff. — The customer service overall was just rude and abrasive. The first person I spoke with was professional and I really felt like she “cared” about my opinion of her company. After that it went downhill, fast. To the point one of the agents basically asked me why I kept buying Blu if so many was defective. Which, come to think of it isn’t a bad question, but to come from an employee of the company that has a job of reasonably satisfying the customer.. Just bad JuJu with this company, buyers beware

    Cost/Value 3/10
    Ease of Draw 3/10
    Vapor Production 6/10
    Flavor/Taste 6/10
    Style/Look 7/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 2/10
    Overall Score 3/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Gian-franco
    June 19, 2013

    Blu-Cigs is a decent brand to review over,though clearly not the best. The quality of the brand, in my opinion, is very poor. They are locally distributed at convenience stores. This brand tends t become defective very easily, and in fact, is not worth the price of a starter kit for $69.95 So when you compare the quality of the product with the price i find it very hard to recommend this brand to nnyone. Overall, it is a well-working E-Cig.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Andrew
    June 12, 2013

    Well i Got Blu’s nice starter kit, while i must admit the kit looks great and you get a lot of things for just $60 bucks. But after Looks and initial excitement it goes down hill. The battery is pretty Horrendous, i got 2 in the kit and they were so annoying in terms of life and ease of draw that i bought a pack of cigs even though i had these on me. Flavors are good but they don’t judge the puff count on battery life nor cartomizer life based on any real smoker. To me it seems like they based it off first time smokers behind the bleachers or something. I would not recommend

    I bought mine in store so Customer Service and Shipment were N/A

    Cost/Value 5/10
    Ease of Draw 4/10
    Vapor Production 10/10
    Flavor/Taste 6/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 6/10
    Speed of Shipment 6/10
    Overall Score 4/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
  • mondotrekker
    May 27, 2013

    The Original starter kit is pretty much as described in the ECCR review but I found it takes 2 batteries to completely expend the cart. That said, the flavor drops off seriously with the second battery, especially the tobacco flavor. Cherry and vanilla flavors hold up a lot better with the second battery & are acceptable IMO. All the flavors are good with Vanilla being the best IMO. The Original most likely will be fine for those who smoke light or ultra light cigarettes – it works for me. The PCC works well (in my short experience) & it looks and feels great.

    The big problem is the short battery life of the mini batteries in the Original kit. Plan on changing batteries often – I do. The big plus is the small size & the light weight. A fresh battery & cart will easily slip into a pocket or a woman’s clutch purse and last through a night out. If you are a heavy vaper better take 2. I’ll continue to use the mini but in the limited instances where they will work well.

    Overall I like the Blu but would recommend getting the 100 unit which has larger batteries so not only should they last longer but the flavor drop off with using a second battery shouldn’t be an issue. I’ve read online that Blu’s disposable is a lot like the 100′s.

    Nicotine satisfaction is good, vapor volume is good but throat hit is minimal. These comments are based on only using Blu’s Strong cartomizers.

    The best part of my Blu experience is finding out that after 50+ years of smoking e cigs really can get me off the stinkies (what a perfect word for real cigs LOL!). My house & car smell better already. Most important I feel much better in only 10 days! For me that more than covers the cost of the kit.

    Finally my experience chatting with Blu was far less than acceptable. I was unable to get answers to any of my questions from the person on the other end of the chat. Either they didn’t know much more than what was on web site or they were having a real bad day & didn’t feel like being helpful. That combined with the many OOS issues with 100′s I read about online resulted in my ordering a full size kit from Green Smoke (see my post from last night about the GS Memorial Day Sale).

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Lolaney
    May 23, 2013

    I’m new to E-cigs. I quit a 37year tobacco cigarette smoking addiction on Friday May 9. I had set Mother’s Day (May 12, 2013) as my official quit day & bought my very 1st Blu disposable e-cig on Thursday May 8. After trying the Blu tobacco flavored disposable- I haven’t smoked another tobacco cigarette. I was so impressed with my new e-cig (that incidentally lasted 12 days), I went all over town looking for a Blu Starter Kit! Found one at Walgreens for $59.95 that included 2 batteries, 2 chargers & an assorted pack of flavored cartomizers-(cherry, java, menthol & 2 tobacco)! The cherry taste like cough drops :( yuck! The java is ok, never been a fan of menthol-but this one is alright & I like the tobacco probably the best of them all. I love the packaging & case with the charger self contained in the pack itself. I was really disappointed in the amount of effort it takes, lack of vapor & short battery life compared to the disposable. After reading the reviews, I see that it’s a hit or a miss with Blu. I’ve not contacted them, but I plan to do that now!!

    Cost/Value 7/10
    Ease of Draw 2/10
    Vapor Production 2/10
    Flavor/Taste 7/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 1/10
    Overall Score 5/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Lucky
    May 8, 2013

    I’ll start with the fact that my family and girlfriend hate smoking so I was a closet smoker and a tweeker for nicotine while with friends. I was looking for something that I could have that was family/girlfriend approved, better for my health, and something I could smoke in public without having people avoid me or pick up their kids and tell them I was disgusting and a bad person because I like cigarettes.

    I saw the commercial for Blu on the T.V. and was kinda curious because I am a fan of being able to feel good while not poisoning my body and I have always liked to be stylish. My first experience with Blu was after I talked to my girlfriend about it and bought a disposable, I bought one regular tobacco flavor and one menthol flavored. I was taken back at first because the regular tasted like coffee to me but I learned to love it, the menthol took me by surprise because instead of the cool feel on the throat it was like smoking while chewing gum. I was a little frustrated because the menthol broke the first night, though I blame my friend who quote “knows how these work” and tried unscrewing it with all his might. After trying the disposable and hearing reviews and having people tell me to get a different brand I ended up getting a Blu starter kit because it came with the charging case and I can buy cartridges at the local store (plus my girlfriend likes it). I was very happy with my results, my girlfriend actually smokes it with me, there is no nasty after taste and I can charge it anywhere. Everyone told me to go with Green Smoke and said “it comes with a car charger and the batteries last longer”. Blu comes with a USB charger and you can buy the car charger USB port that Green has at Walgreens for a buck.

    Again I was a closet smoker I smoked one maybe two packs a week so I had no problem with it. If your a very heavy smoker and have the extra money and don’t
    mind having to order your refills online than I would suggest Green Smoke.

    Over all Blu gets my G.S.O.A (Golden Stamp Of Approval) and rates at a 9/10

    Cost/Value 8/10
    Ease of Draw 9/10
    Vapor Production 8/10
    Flavor/Taste 10/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 7/10
    Speed of Shipment 5/10
    Overall Score 9/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • John C.
      July 26, 2013

      Nice review ! I was just thinking… was your girlfriend already nicotine addicted? The e cigs are a great alternative over smoking regular cigaretes, but they are not a toy nor harmless. You shoul think about it. Happy vaping !!

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Garen Arnold
    May 3, 2013

    Hey great site, been watching your videos as I have been smoking the Blu’s for a couple weeks. I can say that I do love the flavor cherry, java, and menthol. Flavor is a huge plus in the beginning. However, it just seems to be hit or miss with them. The cartridges die out at about 40 hits which drives me up the wall. Takes about 1-2 hours to charge, but this is a very light ecig. You really don’t get a nicotine hit from them. True if you like lights and ultra these are for you. I will continue to smoke them, but want to try green and white cloud as well.

    I have a blue starter pack and will continue to buy the cherry and menthols. However, I really do like their disposable ones :) . I’ll give it a 9 put of ten, because they are fairly cheap.

    Cost/Value 9/10
    Ease of Draw 8/10
    Vapor Production 7/10
    Flavor/Taste 10/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 10/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 9/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
  • Earl Y.
    May 2, 2013

    I purchased both a Blu Cig original kit and a Green Smoke Ultimate kit nearly a month ago and have not smoked a “real” cig since! I like both, though they are rather different. They both seem to work and this is coming from a 20 year smoker of cigarettes!

    If you are a hard core smoker and can only afford one kit then buy the GS. If you are a more casual smoker or have the funds, then by all means, try both kits. There are pros and cons to each product. The Blu Cig (IMO) tastes fantastic and recharges much, much quicker than the Green Smoke but it lacks the serious real cig feel in throat hit. That said, the Blu Cig is always with me and it is a great smoke for casual occasions!

    I have no complaint about the pricing as I cannot put a price on my health. If these products help extend my life then they are priceless! Besides, both cost less to use than smoking tobacco cigs!

    I have posted reviews on both the Blu Cig and Green Smokes. Yo,u as the consumer, need to decide what will be best for you. I highly recommend to anyone to quit analog cigs, I feel so much better in just a month, I am getting my life back!!!

    NOTE: The ecigs are under attack, our govt. wants to treat them as if they are tobacco cigarettes because they contain nicotine. Nicotine is an alkyd compound related to caffeine, cocaine, etc., it is a huge class of compounds! It most closely resembles caffeine in action all are addictive. It is ridiculous to classify ecigs as “real” cigs when they are really no different than nicotine lozenges, gum and patches, except that they are more effective!

    Cost/Value 7/10
    Ease of Draw 7/10
    Vapor Production 9/10
    Flavor/Taste 9/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 7/10
    Speed of Shipment 7/10
    Overall Score 8/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
  • Hereal
    April 28, 2013

    Shpping on the Blu website is EXTREMELY BORING compared to a lot of other e cigs I see.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Hereal
    April 28, 2013

    This is based off my original starter kit that I’ve had for 2 weeks & 1 day now.

    Cost/Value: I guess its reasonable because of the charging case. I was gonna buy the Premium 100 kit but when I did my research on Halo G6 & compared Blu’s $89 kit to G6′s $44 kit, it almost pissed me off on the thought of me almost buying the Blu 100 kit. $89 is disrespectful compared to that $44 deal.

    Ease of Draw: I have to pull too hard on it to get any kind of kick if I ever got any.

    Vapor Production: GREAT, to me its way better than Green Smoke vapor, the cherry crush carts is killing every cart I tried from Green Smoke easily, I think its only because Blu uses 100% VC from Johnson Creek.

    Flavor/Taste: Great taste, but definitely drops down after a while. It seems like it got everlasting vapor but a 10 minute flavor taste lol.

    Style/Look: I love the way it look but they at least need to come with an actual blue battery & cart & a few more accessory options before everybody finds out about Halo G6, Volt, V2, & others smh.

    Customer Service: im a night owl so their customer service is the absolute best, 24hours, enough said.

    Speed of Shipment: Decent, & the free shipping is always a plus.

    Overall Score: Blu is my baby, my first E cig experience that got me away from Newports for good, so they will always have a place in my heart, they just need to be more open minded with their accessories & upgrade their product as a whole, starting off with that weak #ss battery, 80mah???? STOP PLAYING…. & upgrade them carts, its too many other companies killing them in that department. EXPAND!!!!! is the word of the day for them, we know yall got the money, STOP PLAYING, forget about waiting on what the FDA is gonna determine about the e cig industry, yall need to bust out with yall new ideas asap before everybody find out about Halo G6 & Volt lol. If Pro Smoke didnt still use 3 piece sets, they might also be killing Blu. Its been nice, but Im gone to Halo G6 for now with Johnson Creek juice (maybe Halo’s too) until further notice, but I still might get my Original Blu kit dipped in gold, it changed my life, THANKS BLU.

    Cost/Value 7/10
    Ease of Draw 6/10
    Vapor Production 10/10
    Flavor/Taste 8/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 10/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 7/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • John
    April 12, 2013

    Hello, so as I write this I have just ordered an Apollo standard starter kit. The Blu was my first e-cig. I saw some horrible reviews and some really good reviews. In the end this website came down to making the decision. I really like the Blu (Blu premium kit) I gotta say that the bad reviews I saw were pretty off the mark. As this is my first e-cig, I really don’t have much to compare it to. The thing works great and looks great. I ordered the Apollo cause of the longer battery and the refillable cartomizers. Will have a better comparison once the Apollo arrives. I’m going to give the Blu to my wife and use the Apollo myself. We will see. Really happy with Blu though as first e-cig.

    Cost/Value 9/10
    Ease of Draw 9/10
    Vapor Production 8/10
    Flavor/Taste 7/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 8/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 8/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
  • Craig
    April 6, 2013

    I thought I would try a Blu (whatever the “real tobacco” flavor is called) after smoking Winston reds for 40 years. I am looking for a healthier alternative and thought this would be the easiest way for me. Boy, was I ever wrong.

    The thing tastes like coffee and nothing like tobacco. Even though the one I purchase was disposable. I only got maybe 3 cigarettes worth of puffs from it and found myself craving a real cigarette as soon as I stopped puffing on the Blu. The vapor produced was nice while it lasted, but the flavor and the nicotine withdrawal made the product worthless to me.

    If anyone knows of an honest E-Cig that tastes like real tobacco, please let me know.

    Cost/Value 3/10
    Ease of Draw 4/10
    Vapor Production 7/10
    Flavor/Taste 1/10
    Style/Look 1/10
    Customer Service 1/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 1/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    • John C.
      July 27, 2013

      Hi man. Sorry to hear that Blu ecig didn´t do the trick for you. I´m using GS and refilling my empty carts with Johnson Creek e juice. The hit is way better with the Green smokes but the taste of real tobacco isn´t anywhere, no matter the flavour I try, JC Original, GS Gold Tobacco or Red Flavour, I really don´t find anything similar to that cigarette taste… So I gave up looking for it and I´m just enjoing others carts as Mocha or Menthol. There´s no point in looking for real tobacco flavour, just wont find it. Try to give it up that taste, get a better throat kick, hi nic level and leave for good the stinkies. Good vape !

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  • Rob
    March 25, 2013

    I purchased the original blu kit. If you are a heavy smoker (vaper) this is not going to be the ecig for you.

    I went through almost 8 cartos in 5 days, recharge the batteries almost twice a day and after 4 days, one of the batteries creased to work. I have had cheaper batteries last for over 1 full day.

    The classic tobacco and jolt are to great flavors, however I didn’t get any type of nicotine rush/ buzz… Still think wrangler from eonsmoke is the best prefilled carto… to bad they dont fit a 510 battery

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
  • TWIN
    February 27, 2013

    I have the Blu Original Starter kit(not the 100 Premium) so my comments are on the Oringinal Blu E-cig.

    Blu Cigs have a great looking product and great flavors BUT that’s were it stops. There batteries only last for about an hour. There cartomizers have great flavors for the 1st 20 puffs then it drastically diminishes, it will still produce plenty of vapor but with very little flavor.

    There is very little throat hit with Blu e-cigs which is very unsatisfying and misleading because there disposables have a much better throat hit and the reason I purchased there stater kit. If they would improve there battery life and have there cartomizers keep there flavor for at least 100 puffs, then the would easily be the best E-cig on the Market.

    Cost/Value 7/10
    Ease of Draw 6/10
    Vapor Production 7/10
    Flavor/Taste 10/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 7/10
    Speed of Shipment 7/10
    Overall Score 7/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.5/5 (2 votes cast)
  • AdamOfTime
    February 25, 2013

    I’ve owned both the original kit when it first came out and more recently the preumium kit, both in black. The biggest upside to Blu is the convenience of the personal charging case and the speed at which the batteries recharge. The batteries are small, however, and will need to be recharged often.

    The product is very sleek and nice looking. The three-tiered led indicators on the pack for the case and battery charge are accurate and helpful. However, i was never able to give up cigarettes while using Blu. The vapor production, throat kick, and nicotine satisfaction are lacking.

    I found the flavors to be very tasty but they tended to fade quickly (I didn’t care for the vanilla). Once the flavor fades you’re just getting the glycerin vapor which makes you want to waste the cart and put on a fresh one. I do like the product, but it isn’t for me. In my opinion this kit is best suited to very light to social smokers.

    Pros: Cost, accessibility, ease of use, charging pack, speed of charge, some flavors, style/look.

    Cons: Low vapor production, little to no throat hit, nicotine satisfaction somewhat lacking, other flavors, flavors fade quickly, longevity of cartomizer, longevity of battery charge.

    ~AdamOfTime

    Cost/Value 6/10
    Ease of Draw 5/10
    Vapor Production 5/10
    Flavor/Taste 7/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 10/10
    Speed of Shipment 9/10
    Overall Score 6/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
  • PeteC
    February 23, 2013

    I purchased the original starter kit at Walgreens. My only “negative is that I would have preferred to get the Premium 100 kit, but that is only sold at their web site, and I did not want to wait.

    The overall design/style is quite nice. The charging pack works well, and considering the short battery life – which is no surprise considering their mini-size, is an important factor. Because the batteries recharge quickly, and conveniently in the pack, this greatly off-sets the small battery. I am glad that the led is an obvious “not real cigarette” blue, so that when I do vape in public, it is not mistaken for a real cig!

    Note: One battery has gone “bad”. Blu cig customer service was very friendly about replacement under warranty (1 year). I just sent off the RMA for a new battery, so we will see about speed of delivery.

    Flavor: To me, the tobacco flavor is very decent…reminds me a bit more of pipe tobacco than cigarette in taste, but much better than others that I have tried. Surprisingly, my “fav” is vanilla. To me, the flavors are not “strong”, but they are pleasant…

    Throat hit: Not really very pronounced, but then I was a light/ultra light smoker, so no issue there. At any rate, the nicotine delivery is sufficient to satisfy me.

    Vapor production: Seems quite sufficient to me, on par or better than some of the disposables that I’ve tried.

    Pros: Has successfully kept me off analog cigs!; Good design & asthetics; Nice to easily find carbonizers locally; Quality of carbonizers has been consistent; Price appears to be good value for a mini e-cig.; Flavors are pleasing; Battery charging convenient and quick.

    Cons: Battery life not great; Lack of any starter kit locally but the “original”, would have preferred the Premium 100 which would have better matched my smoking level.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
  • Cody
    February 22, 2013

    Being that these are marketed heavily in my area, it was the first eCig I tried out…and definitely not the best first experience. I almost didn’t explore others because of the synthetic tasting vapor, but have since then tasted worse so I guess it’s relative. Production was good for about 10-15 pulls, then mediocre until dying out. Battery life was decent, but power delivery seemed varied and inconsistent. For me personally, the social features served no purpose, one more reason I moved on and found a better eCig.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.3/5 (3 votes cast)
  • Sean Chano
    February 13, 2013

    I had seen the recent commercials for Blu and decided to give them a try. I had never used an eCig before and was really hoping it would be a replacement to the Camels I’m used to. Sadly I was pretty disappointed with the performance of the Blu kit, with batteries and cartomizers having a very short life.

    The style, weight, and overall look of Blu is very appealing, but I just wish it functioned better for my needs. I know the Blu 100s are bigger and last longer, but thats more than I wanted to commit to an initial eCig investment and I suppose you pay for what you get.

    Flavor was…interesting to say the least. Perhaps I’m too used to analog cigarettes but this just seemed to have a syrup like taste which didn’t sit well with me. Actually taking a drag wasn’t bad, and the vapor was pretty impressive for such a small device, but I really think it comes down to flavor and performance ruining this product for me.

    Customer service was very helpful and answered all my questions very thoroughly, and picked up the kit at a local shop like they had suggested. This was pretty nice since I didn’t have to wait around for shipping, and when I checked the map of Blu cig resellers around my area there was literally about one on every block. I may give them another try with the Blu 100s since they are practically everywhere in my area, I just wish the product were better suited for my preferences.

    Overall Blu Cigs are a nice product but not for me. Of course this was my first step into eCig territory but I’m certainly looking to try other brands, products, and methods to see which works best for me.

    Cost/Value 5/10
    Ease of Draw 7/10
    Vapor Production 8/10
    Flavor/Taste 6/10
    Style/Look 8/10
    Customer Service 7/10
    Speed of Shipment 10/10
    Overall Score 8/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (9 votes cast)
  • Hollie
    February 6, 2013

    I tried Blu Cig in search for a replacement for my Safe Cig (a whole bag of issues there). Anyhow.

    I loved the look and feel of the Blu Cig. It was a nice weight and size that felt not so bulky and obvious. Despite my first impressions, I was not at all impressed by the taste and vapor. I did get a nice throat and nicotine hit, it was strong. But, the taste was way off and tasted horrible. Of course, this is a bit user specific, right?

    I also purchased the portable charging kit with “social features”. This is a must for me. I am on the go and not always able to charge in my car or at an outlet. The social feature is kind of stupid and unnecessary. And I was concerned about it effectiveness on charging my batteries. That’s what I spent the bucks on not “connecting” to other users. It didn’t matter long because the thing didn’t last but a week. Refused to charge itself or my batteries. Completely useless.

    The cartridges were spotty, at best, on delivery of vapor and flavor. Often I got more juice on my lips than I did in vapor. Wasn’t pleasant, not to mention the burn on my throat wasn’t great, either. I had about 7 packs worth to last me more than a month…it hardly lasted half a month as many were non-functional or hardly lasted long.

    Needless to say, Blu is not my preferred or new brand. Still on a quest for the right fit for me…hope this helps in your search!

    Cost/Value 8/10
    Ease of Draw 6/10
    Vapor Production 5/10
    Flavor/Taste 2/10
    Style/Look 9/10
    Customer Service 7/10
    Speed of Shipment 5/10
    Overall Score 5/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (8 votes cast)
  • Darlene Doranato
    December 5, 2012

    I live in California and I first found out about electronic cigarettes after seeing an SUV while sitting at a stoplight. It was all decorated with advertisements for Blu.

    I’m a smoker and was smoking at the time in my car and it made me curious. After all I’d never heard of ecigs before. So, when I got home I searched the net and eventually came across ECCR and ended up going to the Blu site.

    I purchased a kit not only for myself and my husband, but also for my grandfather. He’s got COPD and just can’t seem to quit smoking. He’s tried many times.

    I’m hoping this will work for him. I’m giving him the kit for Christmas. :)

    My hubby and I really like the kit. I”m surprised because I really didn’t think ecigs would work but they have a money back guarantee so I figured it was worth a shot.

    I thought it would be fake nicotine or something or a placebo effect but it really does work! So glad I saw that car that day and so glad I took the step to make a change.

    Thanks for the honest review. I like the fact that Blu’s flavors aren’t too out there. Just right. Love the recharging pack too. I ordered a few extra batteries knowing that they don’t last as long as others but I just love the sleek look of Blu.

    Very satisfied. I hope others will take the same step I did and just try an electronic cigarette because they’ve made a real change in mine and my husband’s life already. I’m hoping my grandfather will be able to make the switch as well.

    Can’t wait til Christmas to find out! :)

    Cost/Value 8/10
    Ease of Draw 9/10
    Vapor Production 8/10
    Flavor/Taste 8/10
    Style/Look 10/10
    Customer Service 7/10
    Speed of Shipment 9/10
    Overall Score 9/10
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.9/5 (8 votes cast)




Cost/Value
Ease of Draw
Vapor Production
Flavor/Taste
Style/Look
Customer Service
Speed of Shipment
Overall Score

Leave A Review

This Star Rating is based on the overall Review of Blu Products by consumers like you.
VN:R_N [1.9.22_1171]
6.1

Blu Consumer Ratings

  • 6.1/10
    (Ranked 6.1 out of a possible 10)

Read What Others Are Saying...